Shakedown Ride - my first ride in Oz

Rides, issues, meets or general information regarding NSW FJR events.
JamesK
P Plater
P Plater

Shakedown Ride - my first ride in Oz

Postby JamesK » Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:22 pm

After being bike-less for about 2.5 agonizing months while my FJR was being shipped over from Japan I finally got it out of customs, insured (a big thanks to Steve for helping with insurance Image) and plated around mid week. No rain, storm or hail was going to keep me from riding today. Luckily, despite various warnings by the weather people the weather, at least on my route was perfect.

I'm not very good at story telling and usually just post pics (and occasional comments) on Facebook as I go along, preferring instead to let the pictures do the talking, but figured this for me is a special occasion since I'd not ridden in Oz before...
Had a great day ride today 810 km of nice roads.

ImageImage

Quick Ferry trip across the river.

I guess I have my pic for the Forum photo for the month of Feb :)

Until now I've had to worry about deer (having hit two so far), wild pigs and an occasional bear, as well as small vermin, but now Roos and Wombats as well :shock:

Somewhere on Bylong Valley road

Didn't get to ride Mt Panorama as they closed it off today for some kind of skateboarding event :x

First time visiting Jenolan Caves, well road past there didn't do the tourist thing, I much prefer riding than walking :roll:

Last edited by JamesK on Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

"Dirty bikes are like dirty girls....they are the most fun and have the best stories"
”He who sacrifices freedom for security deserves, nor shall receive either” - Benjamin Franklin

JamesK
P Plater
P Plater

Re: Shakedown Ride - my first ride in Oz

Postby JamesK » Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:30 pm

When I was making the route in MapSource this little shortcut road looked like it was open, however, when I got there I found out that the locals must have blocked it.